Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » June Christy - Something Cool

June Christy - Something Cool album

June Christy - Something Cool album
Performer: June Christy
Title: Something Cool
Country: US
Genre: Jazz
Style:Big Band, Swing, Cool Jazz
Released: 1991
MP3 album szie: 1643 mb
FLAC album size: 1583 mb

June Christy's Something Cool, originally released as a 10" LP in 1954, single-handedly inaugurated the cool jazz vocal movement. Christy had been a star vocalist with the Stan Kenton Orchestra in the late '40s, enjoying major hits with "Tampico" and "Shoo Fly Pie & Apple Pan Dowdy.

June Christy (born Shirley Luster; November 20, 1925 – June 21, 1990) was an American singer, known for her work in the cool jazz genre and for her silky smooth vocals. Her success as a singer began with The Stan Kenton Orchestra. She pursued a solo career from 1954 and is best known for her debut album Something Cool. After her death, she was hailed as "one of the finest and most neglected singers of her time.

June Christy (November 20, 1925 – June 21, 1990), born Shirley Luster, was an American singer, known for her work in the cool jazz genre and for her silky smooth vocals.

Something Cool is a studio album recorded by June Christy in 1953, 1954, and 1955, and featuring Christy singing 11 (in the original release, seven) jazz songs backed by the orchestra of Pete Rugolo. First issued in 1954 as a 10" mono LP, an expanded 12" mono LP was released the following year, with four newly recorded selections added to the track listing. In 1960, Christy and Rugolo re-recorded all 11 selections in stereo, so that a stereo version of Something Cool could be issued.

Artists June Christy Something Cool. Something Cool June Christy. This album has an average beat per minute of 97 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 66/174 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. Tracklist Something Cool.

Something Cool, 1960. Something Cool, 1960. This Time the Dream's On Me, 01:38. A Stranger Called the Blues, 04:22.

Album · 1955 · 11 Songs. 101 - Something Cool - Essential June Christy. The Jazz Sessions: The Best of June Christy.


1 Not I
2 Whee Baby
3 Why Do You Have To Go Home
4 You're Making Me Crazy
5 Something Cool
6 Magazines
7 Midnight Sun
8 Lonely House
9 I Should Care
10 It Could Happen To You
11 The First Thing You Know, You're In Love
12 A Stranger Called The Blues
13 I'll Take Romance
14 Look Out Up There
15 Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
16 Out Of Somewhere
17 Love Doesn't Live Here Anymore
18 I'm Thrilled
19 This Time The Dream's On Me
20 The Night We Called It A Day
21 Kicks
22 Pete Kelly's Blues
23 Until The Real Thing Comes Along
24 I Never Want To Look Into Those Eyes Again


  • Design – Franko Caligiuri
  • Reissue Producer – Hitoshi Namekata


All selections are by June Christy accompanied with Pete Rugolo and His Orchestra in 1953-1955.
Tracks 5, 7-10, 12, 13, 15, 18-20; originally issued on Capitol T-516 as "Something Cool"
Tracks 2, 14, 21, 23, 24; previously issued on Capitol T-1006 as "This Is June Christy"
Tracks 1, 3, 4, 6, 11 & 22 have been released just on Capitol singles.
Tracks 16, 17; previously unreleased.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scan): 077779632923
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7777-96329-2 3
  • Matrix / Runout: B2 96329 S1429C A1

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
B4-96329 June Christy Something Cool ‎(Cass, Comp) Capitol Jazz B4-96329 US 1991
CDP 7 96329 2 June Christy Something Cool ‎(CD, Album) Capitol Jazz CDP 7 96329 2 US 1991
CDP 7 96329 2, D135974 June Christy Something Cool ‎(CD, Album, Club) Capitol Jazz, BMG Direct CDP 7 96329 2, D135974 US 1991
0777 7 96329 2 3 June Christy Something Cool ‎(CD, Comp) Capitol Jazz 0777 7 96329 2 3 UK 1991
515083K June Christy Something Cool ‎(CD, Comp) Jazz Heritage 515083K US 1998