Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Elgar, Daniel Barenboim, Yvonne Minton - Symphony No.1/ Sea Pictures

Elgar, Daniel Barenboim, Yvonne Minton - Symphony No.1/ Sea Pictures album

Elgar, Daniel Barenboim, Yvonne Minton - Symphony No.1/ Sea Pictures album
Performer: Elgar
Title: Symphony No.1/ Sea Pictures
Genre: Classical
Released: 1993
MP3 album szie: 1103 mb
FLAC album size: 1233 mb

Sea Pictures, Op. 37. A1. Sea Slumber-Song. A2. In Haven (Capri). A3. Sabbath Morning At Sea. A4. Where Corals Lie. A5. The Swimmer. Art Direction – Allen Weinberg, David Rossiter. Composed By – Sir Edward Elgar. Conductor – Daniel Barenboim. Cover, Painting – Courbet. Engineer – Robert Auger, Mike Ross Trevor, Robert Gooch. Orchestra – London Philharmonic Orchestra. Photography By – Clive Barda. Producer – Paul Myers (2). Soprano Vocals – Yvonne Minton (tracks: A1 to A5).

Daniel Barenboim and the Staatskapelle Berlin continue their Elgar journey. Previous News Piano Duos and Concert from the Teatro Colón. next News Mozart: Complete Piano Concertos.

She was perhaps the finest Octavian of her time, that role serving as her calling card in several prominent houses. She was a dignified, consoling Angel in Elgar's The Dream of Gerontius, equaled only by Janet Baker. After studying with Marjorie Walker at the Sydney Conservatory, Minton traveled to London in 1960, where she studied with baritone Henry Cummings and soprano Joan Cross (who had premiered several of Britten's stage works).

Animated Bittersweet Gentle Nostalgic Opulent Poignant Sentimental Airy Autumnal Brooding Dignified/Noble Dreamy Elegiac Enigmatic Introspective Languid Lush Lyrical Melancholy Tender Thoughtful Wistful. Elgar: Symphony No. 1; Cockaigne Overture; Romance. 1. Daniel Barenboim, Itzha. douard Lalo: Symphoni. drian Boult, Londo. lgar: Symphony No. 1 in . ark Bebbington. harles Mackerras. ndrew Davis Elgar: Sea Pictures. effrey Tate. Elgar: Symphonies 1 & 2

Edward Elgar Sea Pictures & Symphony No. 2 (recorded live at the Grand Hall of the Moscow State Conservatory, 11 April 1977. Sung in Russian; translations by Natalia Rozhdestvenskaya). Yvonne Minton, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Daniel Barenboim. CD collection of former recordings, 2002. Elgar: Sea Pictures, The Music Makers Chandos Records 9022. Birgit Finnilä, Geoffrey Parsons (piano). Baroque and Romantic Vocal Music BIS-CD-127. Bernadette Greevy, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Vernon Handley Elgar: Symphony N., Sea Pictures Cfp 5753062. Aafje Heynis, "Sea Slumber Song" only.

Elgar: Cello Concerto; Enigma" Variations; Pomp and Circumstance Marches No. 1 & 4. Daniel Barenboim. Classical music CD release from Jacqueline Du Pre and London Symphony Orchestra with the album Elgar: Cello Concerto; Sea Pictures. Released on the label EMI Records. It's held in almost irrationally high esteem in the UK, largely because of the universal affection for Jacqueline Du Pré, the wife of Daniel Barenboim, whose early death from multiple sclerosis cut short what would have been a stellar career. This disc is equally noteworthy for Janet Baker's magnificent singing of the Sea Pictures, the composer's only orchestral song cycle. While Elgar was not known for song writing, the accompanying Sea Pictures with Dame Janet Baker as soloist, makes a nice companion piece of comparable sensitivity.

Elgar Sea Pictures 1. Sea Slumber Song 2. In Haven 3. Sabbath Morning at Sea 4. Where Corals Lie 5. Elgar Symphony No. 1 in A-flat major. Vernon Handley CBE conductor Dame Janet Baker contralto London Philharmonic Orchestra David Nolan leader. When the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Elgar Society planned a concert to mark the 50th anniversary of Elgar’s death, Vernon Handley was the natural choice of conductor. Sea Pictures evokes contrasting images of the sea from five poems sung here by Dame Janet Baker, a peerless interpreter of the work. The First Symphony is one of Elgar’s finest works for orchestra – hailed after its premiere as ‘the greatest symphony of modern times’.

Sea Pictures, Op. 37: I. Sea Slumber-Song - Dame Janet Baker, London Philharmonic Orchestra, 4:590:30. Symphony No. 1 in A-Flat Major, Op. 55: I. Andante nobilmente e semplice - Allegro - London Philharmonic Orchestra, 19:020:30. 7. 55: II. Allegro molto - London Philharmonic Orchestra, 7:000:30. 8. 55: III. Adagio - London Philharmonic Orchestra, 10:190:30. 9. 55: IV. Lento - Allegro - London Philharmonic Orchestra

feels like a conscious distraction from the fearful and the gradual winding-down into the great slow movement is marvellously achieved. you instinctively know that something wondrous this way comes. Barenboim and his orchestra ease us so gently into this revelation that the climax when it comes sings all the more gloriously. there isn't a tempo, a turn of phrase or a rubato anywhere that I would take issue with. This is a hugely impressive Elgar recording, Daniel Barenboim brilliantly controlling and conveying all the themes, drama, turmoil and composure of this great symphony.


Symphony No.1 In A Flat Major,Op.55
1 I Andante
2 II. Allegro Molto
3 III. Adagio
4 IV. Lento- Allegro
Sea Pictures, Op.37
5 I. Sea Slumber-Song
6 II. In Haven (Capri)
7 III. Sabbath Morning At Sea
8 IV. Where Corals Lie
9 V. The Swimmer


  • Composed By – Sir Edward Elgar
  • Conductor – Daniel Barenboim
  • Orchestra – The London Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Soprano Vocals – Yvonne Minton (tracks: 5 to 9)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5099705892923