Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Lucinda Williams - West

Lucinda Williams - West album

Lucinda Williams - West album
Performer: Lucinda Williams
Title: West
Country: US
Genre: Rock / World / Folk
Style:Country Rock
Released: 2007
MP3 album szie: 1825 mb
FLAC album size: 1578 mb

West is the eighth studio album by Lucinda Williams, her ninth album overall. It was released in 2007 on Lost Highway Records. West is Williams' first studio album since 2003's World Without Tears. The album debuted at number 14 on the Billboard 200, selling about 57,000 copies that week. According to Nielsen SoundScan the album has sold 250,000 copies in the United States up to October 2008. West was listed No. 18 on Rolling Stone's list of the Top 50 Albums of 2007

Lucinda Williams is the third studio album by American singer-songwriter Lucinda Williams. It was produced by Williams with Dusty Wakeman and Gurf Morlix, and released in 1988 by Rough Trade Records. An alternative country and roots rock record about the complexities of romantic relationships, Lucinda Williams was met with critical acclaim upon its release and has since been viewed as a leading work in the development of the Americana movement.

What If, 11. Wrap My Head Around That, 12. Words, 13. West. More albums from Lucinda Williams: Blessed by Lucinda Williams. The Ghosts Of Highway 20 by Lucinda Williams. View all albums .

Lucinda Williams West In Stores Now! LucindaWilliams. LUCINDA WILLIAMS- Drunken Angel (1998). Lucinda Williams - Righteously (album version + lyrics).

Lucinda Williams ‎– West. Label: Lost Highway ‎– 9858348. Format: CD, Album, Digipak. Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Lucinda Williams. Management – Frank Callari. Mastered By – Gavin Lurssen. Photography By – Margaret Malandruccolo. Photography By – Annie Leibovitz. Photography By – Alan Messer. Piano, Piano, Organ, Electric Piano, Accordion – Rob Burger. Producer – Hal Willner, Lucinda Williams. Recorded By – Matt Brown, Michael Dumas.

The title of West reflects the change in Lucinda Williams' life as she moved to Los Angeles. It also reflects what had been left behind. Williams is nothing if not a purely confessional songwriter. She continually walks in the shadowlands to bring out what is both most personal yet universal in her work, to communicate to listeners directly and without compromise. From there, the pair created the rest of the album together, never re-recording Williams' initial vocals. The vocals were accompanied by her guitar playing; Willner wanted her inherent phrasing and rhythmic flow. Willner also brought his own crew to play with Williams. This collaboration – as unlikely as it might seem on the surface – results in something utterly different and yet unmistakably Lucinda Williams. West is a warm, inviting, yet very dark record about grief, the loss of love, anger at a lover who cannot deliver, and embracing the possibility of change.

If there was one thing that hampered Williams’ work in the past it was the reliance on too many rockist tropes that allowed her to rail against former lovers and bad blood with a angry authenticity but little subtlety; especially in a live context. Like younger fellow-traveller, Ryan Adams, her heart-on-sleeve recounting of love’s travails often sank too often into whisky-soaked self-indulgence, albeit wrapped in purest poetry. It seems that what she needed was a decent producer and on West, Hal Willner seems to be filling those shoes most adequately


1 Are You Alright? 5:18
2 Mama You Sweet 4:44
3 Learning How To Live 5:11
4 Fancy Funeral 4:14
5 Unsuffer Me 5:40
6 Everything Has Changed 3:38
7 Come On 4:53
8 Where Is My Love? 5:22
9 Rescue 5:34
10 What If 5:41
11 Wrap My Head Around That 9:06
12 Words 3:32
13 West 5:44


  • Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Bill Frisell
  • Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Guitar [Baritone] – Doug Pettibone
  • Backing Vocals – Gary Louris, Gia Ciambotti
  • Cello – Tim Loo*
  • Design – Karen Naff
  • Drums, Percussion – Jim Keltner
  • Electric Bass, Double Bass – Tony Garnier
  • Engineer [Second] – Jason Wormer, Vanessa Parr
  • Engineer, Mixed By – Eric Liljestrand
  • Executive-Producer – Tom Overby
  • Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Lucinda Williams
  • Management – Frank Callari
  • Mastered By – Gavin Lurssen
  • Photography By [All Other] – Margaret Malandruccolo
  • Photography By [Cover] – Annie Leibovitz
  • Photography By [Of Lucinda] – Alan Messer
  • Piano, Piano [Prepared], Organ [Hammond, Vox & Field], Electric Piano [Wurlitzer], Accordion – Rob Burger
  • Producer – Hal Willner, Lucinda Williams
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording] – Matt Brown, Michael Dumas
  • Turntables, Sampler – Hal Willner
  • Viola – Rob Brophy*
  • Violin – Jenny Scheinman
  • Written-By [All Songs] – Lucinda Williams


Marketed in Australasia by Universal Music Australia
Made in Australia 9858348

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 02498 58348 7

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
B0006938-01 Lucinda Williams West ‎(2xLP, Album) Lost Highway B0006938-01 US 2007
0602517235632 Lucinda Williams West ‎(CD, Album, Sup) Lost Highway 0602517235632 Europe 2007
0602498583487 Lucinda Williams West ‎(CD, Album, Dig) Lost Highway 0602498583487 Europe 2007
B000693802 Lucinda Williams West ‎(CD, Album) Lost Highway B000693802 Canada 2007
B0008387-02 Lucinda Williams West ‎(2xCD, Album, Dlx, S/Edition) Lost Highway B0008387-02 US 2007