Main Privacy Policy DMCA Contacts
» » Ian Carr's Nucleus - Roots

Ian Carr's Nucleus - Roots album

Ian Carr's Nucleus - Roots album
Performer: Ian Carr's Nucleus
Title: Roots
Country: UK
Genre: Jazz / Rock
Style:Jazz-Rock, Fusion
Released: 1973
MP3 album szie: 1363 mb
FLAC album size: 1655 mb

Ian Carr (21 April 1933 – 25 February 2009) was a Scottish jazz musician, composer, writer, and educator. Carr performed and recorded with the Rendell-Carr quintet and jazz-rock band Nucleus, and was an associate professor at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London. He also wrote biographies of musicians Keith Jarrett and Miles Davis. Carr was born in Dumfries, Scotland, the elder brother of Mike Carr.

Still under the name Ian Carr's Nucleus, this is a much better album than its predecessor. With a altogether more cohesive line-up (although further changes lay ahead), the foundation of the group was set, Ian Carr will reuse the name Nucleus from the next album on. With Bryan Smith the only mainstay from Labyrinth and MacRae (who had guested on Belladona), Nucleus found a superb bassist in Roger Sutton and Jocelyn Pitchen as a very apt fusion guitarist. Carr and company were falling into a hole which only allowed Nucleus to become repetitive and dull. The tunes on Roots are mere incidental pieces as the band now follow a formulaic pattern of making music. Roots can even be a little better than the Layrinth album but somewhere along the line there is going to have to be an album that will have to take the slack. For me Roots is the scapegoat of the bunch.

They were led by Ian Carr, who had been in the Rendell–Carr Quintet during the mid and late 1960s, and was a respected figure in British jazz for more than forty years. 1977: In Flagranti Delicto (released as a "Ian Carr's Nucleus" album). 1979: Out of the Long Dark (released as a "Ian Carr's Nucleus" album). 1980: Awakening (released as a "Ian Carr's Nucleus" album). 1985: Live at the Theaterhaus (released as a "Ian Carr's Nucleus" album). 1989: Old Heartland (released as an Ian Carr solo album). 2003: Live in Bremen (recorded 1971). 2003: The Pretty Redhead (recorded 1971 and 1982).

Ian Carr's Nucleus ‎– Roots. Label: Vertigo ‎– 6360 100, Vertigo ‎– De Luxe 6360 100. Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Misprint. Written-By – Brian Smith (tracks: B1 to B3), Dave MacRae (tracks: B4), Ian Carr (tracks: A).

Ian Carr's Nucleus – Roots, 02:21. Ian Carr & Nucleus Hector's House. Ian Carr's Nucleus Roots. Ian Carr's Nucleus Southern Roots And Celebration (Roots - 1973). Ian Carr's Nucleus Images. Ian Carr's Nucleus Gone With The Weed. Ian Carr's Nucleus Caliban. Drummer Clive Thacker is also known amongst fusion freaks, but will only remain for this album

An entry in Ian Carr’s engagement diary for 1966 indicated that recording for this album was scheduled for completion on 27 August 1966). Rendell–Carr Quintet - Live. EMI Columbia Lansdowne Series SCX 6316 – 1969. Engineer Roger Wake – Produced by Ian Carr & Roger Wake. Recorded March 1973 – Phonogram Studios, London. Vertigo 6360 100 – 1973. Reissued on CD BGOCD567.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Roots
A2 Images
Drums – Aureo de SouzaPercussion – Clive Thacker
A3 Caliban
B1 Whapatiti
B2 Capricorn
B3 Odokamona
B4 Southern Roots And Celebration

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Phonogram Studios
  • Mixed At – Phonogram Studios
  • Lacquer Cut At – Phonoster
  • Pressed By – Phonoster
  • Distributed By – Phonogram S.p.A.


  • Bass Guitar – Roger Sutton
  • Design – Keith Davis
  • Drums – Clive Thacker (tracks: A1, A3 to B4)
  • Engineer – Roger Wake
  • Guitar – Jocelyn Pitchen
  • Percussion – Aureo de Souza (tracks: A1, A3 to B4)
  • Piano, Electric Piano – Dave MacRae
  • Producer – Fritz Fryer
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Flute [Bamboo] – Brian Smith
  • Trumpet – Ian Carr
  • Vocals – Joy Yates
  • Written-By – Brian Smith (tracks: B1 to B3), Dave MacRae (tracks: B4), Ian Carr (tracks: A)


Vertigo 'Swirl' center labels.

Recorded (August 1973) and mixed (September) in Phonogram Studios London

℗ 1973
Distribuzione Phonogram S.p.A.
Printed and made in Italy

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: S.I.A.E.
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, stamped): 6360 100 1 1 520 11 12 73 09
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, stamped): 6360 100 2 1 520 11 12 73 09

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
6360 100 Ian Carr's Nucleus* Roots ‎(LP, Album) Vertigo 6360 100 UK 1973
6360 100 Ian Carr's Nucleus* Roots ‎(LP, Album) Vertigo 6360 100 Canada 1973
6360 100, De Luxe 6360 100 Ian Carr's Nucleus* Roots ‎(LP, Album, M/Print) Vertigo, Vertigo 6360 100, De Luxe 6360 100 UK 1973
6360 100 Ian Carr's Nucleus* Roots ‎(LP, Album) Vertigo 6360 100 South Africa 1974